A prestigious school of public health in Africa has been renamed in honour of Professor Fred Newton Binka, a member of icddr,b’s Board of Trustees

The University of Health and Allied Sciences (UHAS), Ghana renamed the renowned UHAS School of Public Health as The Professor Fred Newton Binka School of Public Health at its 25th meeting of the Governing Council in April. This was in recognition of Professor Binka’s extraordinary contribution from founding the school to continuing his support for the graduate programme even after his retirement.

Professor Binka was the foundation Vice-Chancellor of the University. During his tenure, he implemented the development of the incubation facilities at Trafalgar, Hohoe and the Main Campus at Sokode. Five Schools, namely, Allied Health Sciences, Basic and Biomedical Sciences, Nursing and Midwifery, Medicine, and Public Health were also established during his tenure. Since his retirement, he has spent his time nurturing the establishment of graduate programmes at the School of Public Health. For this and many other contributions, the School of Public Health has been renamed the “Professor Fred Newton Binka School of Public Health”.

Ms Nancy Y. Cheng, Chair of the Board of Trustees, and Dr Tahmeed Ahmed, Executive Director at icddr,b congratulated Professor Binka on behalf of icddr,b’s Board of Trustees, and the scientific advisory group for this wonderful news.

Professor Binka is a recipient of the Rudolf Geigy Award and Ronald Ross Medal among other accolades. He has authored more than 150 peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters. He has been involved in public health system revamping in Sierra Leone, worked as the executive director of INDEPTH Network, and conducted many clinical trials in Africa other than working as a public health specialist with the Ministry of Health, Ghana, and as a medical officer with the WHO.

He has served as a Board of Trustees member of different national and international organisations based in Ghana, Switzerland, UK, and Burkina Faso and also as an editorial board member of different scientific journals. He is currently a member of Malaria Consortium UK, and also a member of the Board of Trustees of icddr,b. Hehas previously served on WHO committees, IVCC, and IVI among others.